Entry 5. Photographs

When it came to taking photos I brought a tri-pod and spent a day using a timer setting on my digital camera to take photos of myself.

I changed my clothes a few times to incorporate the surrealism in the dream subtly that your mind wanders when you dream and the details will vary. This is also why I was specific when getting my landscape images; that the weather was different in each one: whether it was the lighting of the shot or if it was cloudy or sunny.

For some of the images where you need to be in a specific place; I used electric tape to mark where I was standing. This was used specifically in the mirror photos.

Before shooting images of myself I would shoot a picture of where I would be standing so I can get a rough idea of where I need to be and what the settings will need to be on the camera before taking the shot. I took at least 4 or 5 photos per image so that I could choose the best one.

All of the photos were took either inside my University house (13 Holliers way) or in the front or back garden so I could use natural lighting.

Some of the pictures, where they didn’t work with natural lighting (indoor photos), I set up a desk lamp to help: I tried to avoid using the flash feature on my camera to make them look less like a photographed image.

This entry was posted in Toby Cooper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment