What I like about Valero Dovals work

Valero Dovals work in a nutshell is:

BOLD, STATEMENT, CONTROVERSIAL, INCOHERENT & HUMOROUS.

I adore these qualities and aspects of his work, and to top it off every piece of his is well finished. Here are some of my favorites of his:

This is one of Dovals Collages on paper made in 2005-2007 it is part of his Japenese Poster Collection from his persoanal range. The brown paper colour really contrasts black and coloured ink and helps emulate the typical japense type style. I also love the use of texture which was well used in order to compliment the drawing.

This is a piece I found interestingly challenging. I love the concept behind it, the fact he has used a bird but instead of its wings he has placed an aeroplane tail. This is definetly a technique id love to take into my development stages and hope to reproduce something of a similar style.

This piece really shows off Dovals ability to draw as a fine artist. Taken from his commercial range and made for the New York times it definetly is impressive. He has infused abstract (as her hair piece) with a portrait picture and I find this extremly interesting. I love the use of tones aswel and will explore this in further depth with my own work.

A clash of animals and block colours. Confusing to the eye and makes you take a second glance, once again this is another technique I will be introducing.

I especially love the fact the everything he does is hand drawn….this is definitely something I will be incorporating in my final pieces. I like the randomly placed objects that he puts together and the colours he uses when doing so (often primary). This makes his work unpredictable and edgy.

This entry was posted in Lisa Laurence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment